top of page

It's OK to feel

There are certain days that feel harder than the others. The urge to go back inside my lonely bottle is great! The urge to not talk to anyone is always in the back of my mind. To acknowledge and express my feelings is an essential part of coming to terms with a long-term condition, and it enables me to adjust to the ups and downs of MS. Feeling emotions is a healthy and normal part of being human. Suppressing emotions may be helpful in specific situations, but it won’t help me move forward with my long-term MS symptoms. It also opens doors to support from others who may be struggling to know how to help. Talking to my relatives and friends can be a valuable way of helping me accept and manage my MS.

What is not helpful, is being called emotional. Yes, I might lose control on some days but asking what is wrong or how you can help/pray is probably the most helpful thing you can do. I stay bottled up not to show those emotions or what I am dealing with. I need someone to challenge me with where I am in my walk with the Lord or even where I am with the day. I get this feeling sometimes that people walk on pins and needles around me, afraid I’ll break.

bottom of page